‘Development’ Sketchbook/Development work

Introduction to the ‘Development’ stage

Here is the development process of me designing the front cover of my book. I have used a range of media like newspaper, magazine cuttings, tracing paper, wallpaper along with coffee and tea to stain the paper to give it a more vintage, ancient look.

 

This is the first page of my sketchbook. I have brainstormed all of my ideas onto this so I can keep looking back at it to remind me of what to include. I used a teabag and ink to create an ancient looking background that links to my word ‘Memory.’ Brainstorming and being organised is very important to me as it guides me better and also helps me with my ideas and development better.

Here is the process of me developing a sample for my sketchbook. I found some Graham&Brown wallpaper which I selected very carefully and used it as part of my sample. I picked all of my materials carefully even though I was just experimenting. I decided to use newspaper,wallpaper, tissue paper and brown paper because they fit in with my theme better and they give a better effect. My inspiration for this particular sample comes from a textiles artist called Mandy Pattulo, she produces a lot of collage work along with stitching and layering. I produced this sample which uses the same techniques, but I know i can develop this further by adding some more texture and stitch into it. For some extra experimental work, I used black and white wax crayons to write some text and painted over them with water colour paints. I like how there is a broken, positive negative effect to them, I will definitely use this technique in my further work.

In previous projects, I have used hot wax to create some samples and have liked the results. I decided to try this method out again just as part of my experimental work. I cut out label/tag shapes out of wallpaper and brown paper and wrote something on them before dipping them into the hot wax. Although I am not happy with these particular samples, I know that I want to use this method for further work in my project.

20170310_120311

I wanted a specific look for this page which is an ancient, worn out effect which I happened to have achieved. I decided to incorporate text because it was lacking something. Typography is something I definitely like and intend on using in my future work. The image I have used is part of my primary research, it is my father in his younger days. To achieve the outcome that I wanted, I used colours of the same shade  and kept them neutral.

Here, I have taken inspiration from a blossom tree that we had in my old house when I was a child. I used masking tape to create clean cut blocks. I love the outcome as it has a professional look to it and it looks very effective. This blossom tree was grown by my parents and was part of us for a good few years and i also remember it which is why I decided to include it.

These pieces of tape are taken from the previous work I did. I was about to get rid of them when I realized they can be re used for something else and that they actually look quite effective. I decided to use a plain black background as the colours on the tape are lighter, so to make them stand out, I used a darker background.

I really liked the outcome from my previous page where I had the strips of tape, so I decided to do one where I actually planned the design this time. I painted a similar design of blossoms on the tape along with the outline of me as a child to add a personal touch to it. I like how there is a mosaic effect to it and how it looks like broken pieces. It is something different, I don’t think I have seen it before. I want to try out this same technique again but try stitching into it this time.

Here I have used the actual photocopies of the blossom tress to work with. I have used the same image but created 4 different outcomes. I think it adds character to my page as there are a mixture of textures and tones and they all contrast very well together. I decided to use another colour as well as the original pink of the actual blossom tree, just because it would have looked boring using only one colour. Using fine liner to outline the flowers brings out the detail of the different little shapes without taking too much attention away from the rest of the work.

Here I have incorporated pink to resemble the original colour of the blossoms. Whilst I was painting, I realised I was wearing some pants that had a similar pattern on them.

I created a background here by using random brush strokes. I used the same colours as I did on the previous page to make sure both pages linked and didn’t look random. At first I was going to leave it at that but decided to add some watered down mustard colour to make the page look a little more old and relevant to my theme. This still was lacking something so I added some large text. To do this, I used a method I have never used before, I came up with it on the spot. I painted some words on some paper, but the letters were backwards so that when I printed them they would be the right way round. I was genuinely very pleased with the results so I repeated this a few times until I was happy with the results.

I have included an image of myself as a child that is printed on acetate. To stick this on this background alone would have been very boring so I stitched a flower into it along with some text. This added a lot of character into the whole page and makes it look a whole lot interesting.  I have also included the tags that I made earlier on in the project because I wanted to add a different texture into the page and I achieved that by doing this. One thing I would change is the colour of my background. I feel it looks a little dull especially behind the acetate image, it takes the attention away from the picture and clashes, so next time I will bare in mind to use lighter colours.

Stitching into the Acetate was pretty difficult at times as I was stitching with my hand. Sometimes the needle would poke my finger as it was hard to push it through the acetate. a lot of tears were created which is why I decided to put some card behind the acetate to support it whilst I stitched. This also made it easier for me to push the needle through.

Befor I started this page, I had a rough idea of what I wanted to include in it. My intentions were to have an image of my mother along with some some objects to resemble her personality and hobbies. I chose to include some buttons,safety pins and floral lace as my mother is amazing at sewing and she has been doing this since a very long time. The blossoms resemble the tree we had which was also a big part of our lives. The other reason I chose to include them is because ‘blossom’ means to flourish and develop which relates to everyone and their lives but also shows the journey of me developing in this course and throughout life. These things just make my page a little more personal.

Here I am just creating a background for the next page in my book. I have again used colours that give an old effect, but I also decided to add a bit of colour to it to make it more interesting. I have not included any other work on this page yet as I cannot decide what will go well with it which is why I feel I should produce work on loose sheets of paper sometimes. That way I can place them wherever I like later on.

These pictures are taken from some samples of wallpaper produced by my tutor Shireen. I chose to use these as part of my research and inspiration as I have already used flowers in my project so far also because surface pattern is where I specialize in, so these will help me develop drawings and samples of my own.

This is one sample I created with the inspiration from the previous samples I have shown. I have also got some inspiration from one of Mandy Pattulo’s pieces of work from her sketchbook. I like how she used material on some parts of the page and painting and sewing in the other. I intend on incorporating this technique as I move on through this project as it looks really effective and relates to my interests and artist research.

I made this sample because it relates to my father and his hobbies. He is a very creative person which is why I chose a pencil and paintbrush to resemble this.

For this sample I have simply placed some paper filled with text behind an image on tracing paper of my father to make the image appear more clear. I didn’t wan’t to have a dark background as this would have clashed and taken the attention away from the image. For further development I have stitched some text on top and placed the whole thing in hot wax as this technique is really effective in bringing out all the detail that is already applied. I will use this sample as part of a page that I will base specifically on my father, his life and interests.

For another sample I was working on, I was intending on using a tea bag part of it. I needed any scrap piece of paper to rest my teabag on so I got what was closest to me and placed it on there. Unaware, I lifted my tea bag off this paper  and saw that it had created a beautiful effect. I came to realisation that this paper was fax paper, I think this is create to use as backgrounds and to create pattern and texture. Whilst experimenting, my teabag tore apart and I was about to get rid of it but instead I emptied it and dipped half of it in wax. I think it looks great but for further development I could try sewing into teabags and also placing pictures and objects inside them.

For these, I used white wax crayon and Quink Ink. I have already worked with this technique before and I love the outcome every time.. I chose to use Quink ink because it is dark and it defines my pattern more. I Intend on using these as part of my book work and samples. I think they would look good as a background with some other pieces as well as cut out shapes out of them.

With this piece, I had some wrapping paper that I liked the design of so I traced it and sewed into it. I thought sewing into it would look great because it is such an intricate, detailed pattern and would look effective if stitched. The only issue I had was that the tracing paper between small details kept getting stuck and distracting me. There wasn’t much I could do  to resolve this, but I managed to get it completed. I think something like this on a garment would look really effective. At the moment, this page in my book looks bare with just this single design on it so I intend on making more samples and including them to complete the page.

My inspiration for this piece came from Shelly Goldsmith. I like the effect of letters being stitched onto something. As a practice piece, I used newspaper and card but I actually like the end result, it’s something different.

This is a page from a former students work, Heidi. I liked the repeated text effect so I tried it out myself but I wanted to add my own touch to it so I spilt some water on top to diffuse some of the text. To take the attention off the text a little bit, I included some larger letters on top with stencils to add some character, I chose the colour blue because I thought it went well with the outcome of the smudged ink. This page looks empty, it needs something more. I intend on including something else once I have a wider range of samples.18120461_1304803236270855_1277614055_o.jpg

Here I have used an ink pad and stamps to print letters. I really enjoyed using them and would like to use them again to overlap many layers of letters and create some sort of print.

For these prints, I took a series of wallpapers and dabbed some paint onto them, I picked my wallpapers very carefully to ensure the paint will pick up the pattern and actually transfer the print onto the paper.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

